ANS Scholarship Recipients

Pictured left to right: Ignacio R. Bartol, Colin H. Gold, Matthew Louis, and Claire M. Tran.

Four Woodruff School Students Named ANS Scholarship Recipients

May 24, 2023
By Chloe Arrington

Four students from the George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering have been named 2023-2024 American Nuclear Society (ANS) Scholarship Recipients. Nuclear and radiological engineering (NRE) students Ignacio R. Bartol, Colin H. Gold, Matthew Louis, and Claire M. Tran are among 96 students who will receive various scholarships from ANS during the upcoming academic year. 

"It is always a proud moment to see the efforts and accomplishments of our students recognized by the foremost professional society in nuclear engineering," said Assistant Professor Shaheen Dewji.

In addition, Brett P. Lowry, who will join Georgia Tech's NRE program in the fall, has been awarded the ANS Undergraduate Scholarship for incoming freshmen. Meet the recipients:

Ignacio R. Bartol

Ignacio R. Bartol has been awarded the ANS Graduate Scholarship. Bartol is a second-year Ph.D. student whose research is focused on integrating computer vision models and computational fluid and particle dynamics simulations to enhance biokinetic models under Dewji and Mauricio Tano from Idaho National Laboratory. Bartol is involved in the ANS, Data Science Georgia Tech, and the Ski & Snowboard Club. He enjoys being able to further explore both his academic and recreational passions.

“It is really rewarding to have someone recognize the effort I have put into my work,” said Bartol. “This award will provide financial support that will allow me to continue focusing more on my research.”

Colin Gold

Colin Gold has been awarded the ANS Sophomore Undergraduate Scholarship. Gold is a rising sophomore whose research area is in ceramic halides for radiation detection under advisor Zhitao Kang. He is a member of the ANS, Theta CHI Fraternity, and Undergraduate SGA.

“I am honored to receive this scholarship from ANS,” said Gold. “I hope that as a result of my efforts in my studies, I may one day give back to the next generation of students who promote the nuclear sciences.”

Matthew Louis

Matthew Louis has been awarded the ANS Rudi Stamm’ler Reactor Physics Division Scholarship. Louis is a rising junior whose study interests involve reactor multiphysics modeling, design, and high-performance computing. He is currently involved in a project focused on simulating higher enriched fuel cycles for light water reactors under Assistant Professor Dan Kotlyar. He is also president of the Georgia Tech Hapkido Club. Louis says he is honored to have been chosen among the many candidates and recognized for his efforts and is grateful for the additional support to his academic career.

Claire M. Tran

Claire M. Tran has been awarded the ANS Raymond DiSalvo Memorial Scholarship. Tran is a rising senior and is involved with the Intel Real Sense SDK Camera Project under Marian Axente from Emory University. She is involved with the Student Alumni Association as Chair of social media and the ANS, serving as the Secretary for the past two years. Tran is grateful for the confidence this award has given her.

“Receiving the award gives me more faith and confidence in my ability to achieve. It feels nice to be recognized for my hard work,” she said.

About ANS

The American Nuclear Society is the leading organization for those that embrace the nuclear sciences and technologies. ANS membership is open to all and consists of individuals from all walks of life, including engineers, doctors, students, educators, scientists, soldiers, advocates, government employees, and others. The ANS will be celebrating its 70th anniversary next year and after seven decades it remains committed to advancing, fostering, and promoting the development and application of nuclear sciences and technologies to benefit society.